Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Congratulations to Pete Alonso 2019 National League Rookie of the Year

Pete Alonso easily won the 2019 National League Rookie of the Year Award after setting the rookie record for hitting 53 home runs.  He is now the 6th Met to win this award:

  • Tom Seaver (1967)
  • Jon Matlack (1972)
  • Darrell Strawberry (1983)
  • Dwight Gooden (1984)
  • Jacob deGrom (2014)
Tom Seaver eventually made to the Baseball Hall of Fame, while personal problems prevented Strawberry and Gooden from reaching their potential.  Will Pete be able to maintain his statistics in the years to come?  Baseball is a team sport, so no matter how well he performs, the other players on the Mets must perform for the team to make the playoffs in 2020.

Hearty congratulations to Pete.

No comments:

Personal-Journals blog