Saturday, August 19, 2017

Visit to New York Transit Museum to See Exhibit on the #7 Train

If you ever read my companion commuting blog you will read about my many misadventures on the #7 train over the years.  Today we stopped by the annex of the New York Transit Museum at Grand Central Station to see an exhibit titled 7 Train: Minutes to Midtown.  It showed how the #7 train was constructed in the early 20th century and how the neighborhoods around it developed over the years.  The line was constructed through a rural area with the expectation that the train line would bring people and businesses.  It sure did!

Long Island City has really grown by leaps and bounds over the last 15 years.  Every time I pass by I observe a new building or one under construction.  Certainly, the ethnicities of the neighborhoods along the 7 line have changed as well.

Visit to the Guggenheim Museum Today

I just consulted this journal and determined that the last time that I visited the Guggenheim Museum was on December 30, 2015.  Since exhibits in museums change, I thought it was time for another trip there.  The names of the exhibits we saw today were:

Visionaries: Creating a Modern Guggenheim

Mystical Symbolism: The Salon de la Rose+Croix in Paris, 1892–1897

Thannhauser Collection

Brancusi Collection

Jackson Pollock: Exploring Alchemy

Lenka Clayton and Jon Rubin: . . . circle through New York.

The Management of the Mets Should Offer Rebates to Fans After Dumping Salaries

The Mets have made several player moves since late July as they have given up on this season.  They have traded:

  • Addison Reed
  • Lucas Duda
  • Neil Walker
  • Jay Bruce
  • Curtis Granderson
All they have received in return are a few minor league players and a few other "players to be named later."  The result is a salary dump resulting in big savings to the Wilpons and others.

I think it would be a nice gesture if the management would give some financial relief to the loyal fans who have supported the team and are disappointed with the results this season.  They could do one of two things:
  1. Fans could send in used tickets from games after July 31 and get $2 (an arbitrary figure) back for every ticket they send in.
  2. Offer significant discounts on the food in the stadium that it already overpriced.
I really doubt if this would happen.

Friday, August 18, 2017

The Mets Lose The Last Game of the Subway Series 7-5

Since 1997 we have gone to one game of the Subway Series during most years.  The season has not gone well for the Mets as several players have been lost to injuries and four major players were traded in a salary dump.  Things have looked up for the Yankees with the emergence of Aaron Judge, Gary Sanchez, and other "Baby Bombers".  The Yankees are ahead in the wild card race and are chasing the Red Sox for the AL East title.

The Mets lost the first 3 games of this year's series, but I will report on the game we attended last night.  Gary Sanchez hit a three run homer in the first inning while the Yankees rallied for 4 runs in the 4th inning against a struggling Steven Matz.  The Mets made it close in the 9th inning as Curtis Granderson hit a grand slam home run to make the score 7-5.  Dellin Betances came in and got the save.

I observed that there were more Yankee fans at Citifield.

Game Recap

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Random Comments of the Day

Of course, today is the 40th anniversary of the death of Elvis Presley.  There is no sense of what I wrote 6 years ago as I recalled what I was doing that day.

I took the car to Sparkles for an oil change and a car wash.  My 2000 Chevy Cavalier is doing well despite its age.  I only have 64,700 miles on it in 17+ years as most of my driving is local.

In the afternoon Karen and I went to Macy's to buy a couple of pairs of pants and a pair of shoes.  Macy's just doesn't have that good of a selection of shoes.  Years ago there was a terrific shoe store on Main Street and Northern Blvd., but it closed.  I am going to have to find a store that only sells shoes.

Right now I am reading Gould, J. (2017). Otis Redding: An unfinished life.  I actually check out the ebook for the Kindle from NYPL.

Back to watching the Subway Series on TV tonight.  I hope the Mets can win the two games at Citifield.  We will be at the game tomorrow.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Yearly Trip to the Whitney Museum

It seems to be a yearly ritual for Karen and me to visit the Whitney Museum during the summer.  The exhibits that we saw were:

  • Calder: Hypermobility -featured the sculptures of Alexander Calder
  • Where We Are: Selections from the Whitney's Collections, 1900-1960
  • Helio Oiticica - To Organize Delirium
  • Willa Nasatir
  • Bunny Rogers: Brig Und Ladder
Since it was raining when we left the museum, we could not walk along the Highline to the end to pick up the #7 train at the Hudson Yards Station.

Monday, August 14, 2017

Starting My Last Staycation

 I must have reported on several staycations in this journal before.  Since I get 20 vacation days and 3 "personal days" every year, I should use them or else would lose them.  We can only carry over 175 hours on June 30.  I was told that I must use all of my vacation before I retire on December 31, 2017.  I have not yet made my official announcement, but will after I fill out the paperwork in the human resources department.  I will likely do that in early October.  I will discuss that later.

Meanwhile, I will relax at home not worrying about catching buses and trains.  I likely will take in a few museums while I am home.  I will certainly watch the Subway Series between the Mets and Yankees this week.  We are going to the game on Thursday.
Personal-Journals blog